Thinking of my Nation…

If I were the president

Of the this great legacy

We call our home,our country

Left to us long ago

By our long departed great fathers

I will strive with all my heart

To build with it a monument

Dynamic yet stable

Solid and strong

Like the great rock of Gibraltar

She will be the envy of other nations

The pride of generations yet unborn

Alas I’m not the president

I’m but a resident

Like everyone  else

I can only watch and pray

Perhaps weep

For once there was a nation

Green and beautiful

Filled with potentials

Whose back is now bent

Under the weight of depression,

Corruption and segregation

One day soon, maybe

Our hope that is now withered

Like dying roses in the evening sun

Will receive a surge of life

And blossom yet again

You and I may yet sing our nation’s anthem

Head high, chest out

And filled with pride

Shining as the stars

On a darkened night sky

And even though we all can’t be president

We will believe always in a new Nigeria

Vibrant, strong, dynamic and stable

Our country, our pride.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

